Posted by: Adrianna | July 24, 2010

Sleeping

So last night I was, as usual, exhausted and rather grumpy.  I decided to put in ear plugs and go to bed; if he peed on the floor, so be it. I set my alarm for 4:30am so I could check on him, but otherwise I was not going to wake up. Here’s what happened:

I had a full night’s sleep.  No one peed anywhere.

Amazing, right?  I woke up at 4:30, he was stretched on his bed sleeping so I went back to sleep. I didn’t wake up again till 9am, and I actually woke up on my own! No alarms, no panting/staring, nothing. Just sleeping. This is the first extensive sleep I’ve had since he came home from his diagnosis, and although it was interrupted, it still felt really good like an actual normal night’s sleep. I feel a little less crazy today than I did yesterday …

After I woke up he actually stayed in his bed for several minutes then struggled to his feet and began displaying some desperation in having to go out.  He peed like a racehorse (where does that expression come from?  did I make it up?) when we got out, so of course I feel a little bad but I am still grateful for the hours I got to sleep.

Now, I think that part of the reason I was able to get so much sleep was that Elliott is still feeling very achy from Thursday, unfortunately.  I have been giving him pain meds but that only helps a limited amount. He is achy enough to show reluctance to go out and this helps “convince” him he can hold it.  The other thing is that he is on every-other-day pred now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

