Posted by: Adrianna | July 22, 2010

Vincristine today

Also plan to start Adequan.

7:50am Walk (1500 steps) U+++ BM + (N). Dasuquin soft chew. Levothyroxine, gabapentin, ursodiol in pill pocket. One Earth biscuit.

9am Got to work, fed 1/2 can i/d.

~10:30am Had chemo, short walk U++.

12pm Walk U+++ BM ++ (normal). Fed the rest of the can of i/d.

5:30pm Walk U++ BM + (N). Fed 1 can i/d.

7pm Still at work.  The hospital is being repainted so I was moving things around, trying to get our room ready.  I went towards the back, where the runs are, and heard Elliott panting (he could not see me).  I checked on him again in a few minutes and he was panting and whining, sounding desperate.  I quickly leashed him and ran outside.  He peed a small amount, no BM, but was extremely agitated.  I recognized this — this is what happened two weeks ago when he was freaking out, restless, etc. and I had to bring him to the hospital.  At least this time we were already here.  I caught his oncologist before she left, and she spoke to the criticalist, so we ended up giving him a SQ injection of Reglan (it is an anti-nausea drug that also increases GI motility, hopefully moving the gas out of this stomach where it is causing such discomfort).  I drew up a little sedation, too, but he ended up calming down after the Reglan.  Then the farts began.  And they didn’t stop for about an hour and a half.

When we were giving him the Reglan injection, he tried to get out of the way and he slipped and yelped.  I think he hurt himself.

I do think he was uncomfortable because he swallowed air and probably had a gas-filled stomach.  He kept trying to lie down but couldn’t get comfortable. He feels much better after the, um, fart storm.

9:40pm Walk U++ BM ++ (normal; this dog never runs out of poo).  When we got back in, I gave him: methocarbomol, levothyroxine, gabapentin, tramadol, Benadryl in pill pockets.  I gave the methocarbomol and tramadol because I think he hurt his back, and gave the Benadryl because he seems itchy.  He started snapping at his rear end again, too.

11:30pm Back home.  He’s exhausted, sound asleep.

1am Walk (720 steps) U++. Dasuquin soft chew. One Earth biscuit.

Leave a Reply

Categories

